Changed max_input_vars but no effect

I am attempting to use a directory wordpress theme on my DigitalOcean Ubuntu 16.04. I am a novice at best when it comes to virtualmin.

I have installed and am running Virtualmin/webmin without issue up to now (I have multiple websites where I installed Wordpress using the script installer built into Virtualmin)

However when I install this theme it says that my max_input_vars is set too low. It shows the current setting as “1000” and says it needs to be set at “3000” for the theme to work correctly.

I did some research and found out that you go

Services > PHP 7.0 Configuration > Edit Configuration Manually > change max_input_vars to 3000 from 1000, save, restart apache and boom, all is good.

Just to be safe, I made it 5000.

HOWEVER the theme still isn’t working correctly and the “system report” the theme provides still shows the max_input_vars as 1000 instead of the 5000 I set it to.

Here is a screenshot of the “system report” the theme is giving me

1. removed 2) removed

and just so you know I’m not crazy here is a screenshot of php.ini manual edit removed

I even went in via FTP and checked /etc/php/7.0/cgif AND /home/url/etc/php7.0/php.ini and both show max_input_vars as 5000.

I am pulling my hair out here. Is there somewhere else I need to change this? Is it pulling from another php.ini file I don’t know about?

I read a comment that said something about Virtualmin having 3 places you need to change the php.ini default settings but I couldn’t find any other mention of it.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Howdy,

Where I’d start, is to create a script named “test.php” in this domain’s public_html folder, and give it the following contents:

<?php phpinfo(); ?>

Would it be possible to either share that output with us, or share the resulting URL?

-Eric

Here is the link to the “test.php” page removed.