Virtualmin 'Testing Mode" for the complete newbie

We should consider offering a 'Testing Mode" in Virtualmin which makes adoption of Virtualmin easy for the complete newbie - and this newbie will likely not be from US / UK or other developed nation of the world, but from new and hitherto underserved areas. Our friend @Alaaeddine.benabid fits the profile of the next set of Virtualmin users. One must admire him for sticking it out despite all the difficulties that he has had with his server; and such difficulties can be made avoidable for all future users of Virtualmin by offering a testing mode with the following changes and enhancements:

1. DNS and mail relaying is offered out of the box in test mode
  2. disable other php execution modes - offer just php-fpm in test mode. Other execution modes can be applied only when test mode is disabled.
  3. in php, disable mail(). This can be enabled only when test mode is disabled.
  4. add mail rate limit option for a virtual server in the Edit Virtual Server screen so that it is not overlooked

These changes come immediately to the mind. A few more could be added to the list to make Virtualmin testing mode offer a very secure and spammer-proof sandbox type environment for complete newbies to get started with Virtualmin.

Let a Virtualmin newbie made a conscious decision to switch off testing mode and put his system in production mode to access those features of Virtualmin which could get him into trouble if he deviates from default without understanding what he is doing.

1 Like

Of these, only disabling features in PHP-FPM might help with the case in question. But, it’d also require disabling exec, shell_exec, and maybe some others, since PHP can send mail many ways. And, it might not help, it depends on how mail is being sent; it doesn’t have to be sent via PHP, but that’s one possibility.