Help a newbie with Nginx

SYSTEM INFORMATION
OS type and version Ubuntu Linux 20.04.4
Webmin version Webmin 1.994

Hello everyone, I am very new to the whole Webmaster space, I recently spun up a webserver running Ubuntu 20.04.4, with Virtualmin/Webmin to do some playing/testing around with. I seem to be having a really hard time trying to figure out how to do the reverse proxy on Nginx, can’t even seem to figure out how to redirect the subdomain I created to the 10000 port for webmin. If anyone can help me out, or give me a link to some good tutorials, I would greatly apreciate it, all I can find on YouTube are some really old videos.

Thank you in advanced.

Hello @Misinthe and welcome to the community.

From your comment about redirecting to port 10000, I can infer that you have not started off with Virtualmin via the automated installer.

You must install Virtualmin on a freshly installed system (with nothing else installed except the OS) and then follow the instructions here:

Automated Virtualmin Installation – Virtualmin.

After you do this, Webmin and Virtualmin will be installed on your system.

Thereafter you will use Virtualmin (and not Webmin) to host domains by creating virtual servers - one virtual server per domain. All redirection to port 10000 etc will be configured automatically by Virtualmin when you create a virtual server / domain.

Feel free to reach out to the community via this forum if you need assistance or information.

1 Like

Hello @calport , thank you for your response.

I have Virtualmin installed on the Server together with Nginx and Webmin. Currently to get to Virtualmin, I have to go to https://192,168,0,100:10000.

What I want is, let’s say I have my domain that is www,example,com, and I created a subdomain named webhost,example,com.