Best practices for setting up server's subdomain (server.example.com) and Virtual Server for base domain (example.com)

(I apologize for some odd domain formatting, as a new user I’m only allowed to include 2 URLs in my post, so I had to make some modifications. Correction, all domain references are now modified as someone is reporting the non-working, example domains that I’m using as spam, lol. Thanks for the warm welcome to the forum whoever you are! :slight_smile:)

Hello all!

I’m new to Virtualmin and I’m in the process of trying to setup a fresh server with it, but I’ve run into some issues with getting the server’s subdomain and base domain both setup and running, so I wanted to see if there are some best practices for setting this up. I’ve tried quite a few searches on the subject but so far I haven’t had any luck.

For example, I want to have server-DOT-example-DOT-com as the FQDN for my new server, and I’ve been able to get that setup just fine and generate an LE cert for it, but I also want to have example-DOT-com setup as a Virtual Server, but as soon as I do that the server-DOT-example-DOT-com setup seems to break. The server-DOT-example-DOT-com setup seems to get overwritten with the example-DOT-com setup, and then I lose access to my Virtualmin UI because the server’s FQDN is now messed up and pointed at the hosting for example-DOT-com (I can still access the UI via the IP address though).

So I guess my questions are, should I even be doing this? Do best practices tell me that if I use server-DOT-example-DOT-com as the FQDN for my server, that I shouldn’t use example-DOT-com for anything? And if it’s perfectly fine to have both of these setup at the same time, how would someone go about doing it without things breaking?

The best practice for new users to virtualmin to my opinion is CentOs 7 with a full installation and a real domain name, but it is possible to do it with a local.