Virtualmin with perl frameworks (Mojolicious)

Hi, this is my first time using Virtualmin, so I was wondering if there are any specific requirements when I am using one of the perl web frameworks. Specifically Mojolicious in this case.

Do I understand correctly that I first create a Virtual Server.
Then I can move all the perl files into the home directory created
Then edit the conf files under Webmin Apache
And then add make a systemd file to execute hypnotoad on boot?

Or is there a more automated/correct way in Virtualmin to do this?

Thank you very much in advance!

~Krill

SYSTEM INFORMATION
OS type and version RockyLinux 8.5
Virtualmin version 7.0

You’ve got it pretty close to right.

Running any web app that has an app server (like hypnotoad) is pretty much the same as in any Apache or nginx config. Run the app server (whichever one you like) and then proxy to it in the web server. Virtualmin has a simplified GUI for setting up proxy rules, if you prefer it (though I think the GUI isn’t as intuitive as it could be, though I think maybe Jamie updated the text in the most recent update to make it a little clearer). If you like the Webmin Apache module for this, I think that’ll work, too.

Virtualmin has a user init module, as well, that allows you to have domain-owned services started automatically as the user when Webmin starts (and they’re editable by the user, which is a feature in a shared hosting environment). But, if you’re comfortable with systemd, it’s just plain better at managing services than our simplistic Perl implementation of an init system.

If it’s something you’ll be doing a lot of, i.e. many very similar deployments, you can probably automate most of it with Server Templates, and putting the app and such into the skel directory. There are pre- and post-creation scripts you can have Virtualmin run automatically, as well.

1 Like

Hi Joe,

Thank you very much for the detailed response.