Virtualmin with Docker (Mailcow specifically)

Hello,

I’ve been using VirtualMin for many years on different VPS’s. I’m planning to spin up a VPS, likely Ubuntu 20, primarily for Mailcow ( https://mailcow.email/ ) (which is a bunch of Docker containers) for email.

I would like to keep using VirtualMin for management, and potentially moving some websites over to the same server (performance won’t be an issue), and I have so much familiarity and trust with it.

I’m not very far into Mailcow yet, but my plan is to route all the email ports via VirtualMin to the Mailcow container and disable inbound email in Virtualmin. And have Virtualmin setup a proxy for a hostname to route http and https for webmail. And have Virtualmin use the Mailcow container for SMTP to send system emails (alternately, I could send outbound email via an external SMTP relay). I’m not quite sure how user account management would work.

Does anyone have any tips or thoughts on if this is a terrible idea or an OK idea?

Thanks in advance!

Doesn’t Virtualmin do all what mailcow does? What its benifit?

Steve

mailcow has preconfigured webmail including CalDAV and CardDAV. I also suspect the deliverability features like DKIM and DMARC are easier to setup. I’ve done the DIY managed email server thing, mostly for outbound email - it’s a pain and I’m lazy. I really want to use a popular bundle that is single purposed. Also, it should be easier to keep a Docker based email server up to date.

DKIM and DMARC are actually easier to setup in Virtualmin, considering that if you manage the DNS with Virtualmin it’s all automatic.
Sure, Mailcow will print the information you need but you’d still need to add it in the nameservers yourself.

Also worth noting that Mailcow technically doesn’t support SNI on IMAP/SMTP and is more of a single domain solution.
That being said it works great if you need the entire “collaboration” thingy…

As for the question itself, don’t!