Virtualmin: Why not?

I’m setting up a new server and I’m evaluating various web panels. I don’t want cPanel because is too expensive for what I need. I have some experience with CWP. It is easy to use and install, but I managed to completely crash it by installing an innocent SSL certificate. It took me 5 hours to get it back online. Actually I’m looking for a web panel which will not allow me to crash it by doing something from its interface. This server will be a multi-domain mail server with big mailboxes(>50GB), FTP server and storage for backups.

If you had some bad experiences with Virtualmin, please share it with me.

Thanks!

Good luck with that. There is no such thing as software that will NOT do what you tell it to do because it realizes you have no idea what you’re doing.

2 Likes

I have some 30gb mailboxes … that’s down to your mail software to look after, and not an interface as such, however it could be said that if you play with settings in any interface you don’t understand you are asking for trouble.
All software has it’s problems I have never come across a package that works all the time in all situations
With webmin/virtualmin I have had a few minor problems but most of those have been down to not understanding the underlying system that I was configuring with the interface.
I did try out plesk … didn’t like the interface, cyberpanel is no where near powerfull to run any sort of web hosting and does some rather weird things on installing

1 Like

Welcome to the forums, @EmeyWhatson!

I’ve been using Virtualmin since before I was a member here, which I just realized I signed up for more than 11 years ago!
I have migrated, upgraded, moved and generally stirred about quite heavily and apart from a few small issues now and then (mostly made by me trying things) it’s been working really well.