Virtualmin (MS Azure / Ubuntu 12.04)

Hi there

i am pretty new to Virtualmin and trying install it on a MS Azure Server (Ubuntu 12.04 LTS).
Unfortunately i have some problems regarding the network settings.

Edit: in Azure my server is afaik behind a NAT firewall.
I got this message from the Checking Configuration page:
Default IP address is set to 100.91.xxx.xxx, but the detected external address is actually 23.97.xxx.xxx. This is typically the result of being behind a NAT firewall, and should be corrected on the module configuration page…

I tried: https://www.virtualmin.com/node/23360 , but it still doesnt work. All results made the server unavailable and i had to reinstall Ubuntu a couple of times.

Does anyone have experience with Azure? Any help is highy appriciated.

Thanks
Chris

I’m not familiar with “MS Azure”, but running Virtualmin behind a NAT should work the same, no matter if it’s a home router or something else.

The default IP address of “100.91…” looks strange though, because that’s not an IP range that’s normally used for NAT. The netblock 100.64.0.0/10 is classified as “IANA reserved”, i.e. it’s not presently in use in the Internet, but can become so at any time. It’s unfortunate if a NAT service uses that netblock.

It’s important to know under what IP address your system is reachable from the outside, and what internal IP address it gets.

To give you actual help though, we’d need to have precise information about what you tried and what went wrong. “Doesn’t work” is not an error description. :wink:

here is more detailled information what i have done so far:

Hostname and DNS Client:

Hostname: comapy.ltd
DNS Server: 100.91.226.230 (no matter what i do here the server always resets to this IP)
Search domains: XYZ.a5.internal.cloudapp.net (same here)

Apache Webserver: Virtual Server 100.91.226.xxx (internal IP)
Network Interfaces: lo Loopback No address configured None Yes

Routing and Gateways:
Active Configuration