Virtualmin Install keeps failing

Hi, first of all, I am a total noob to linux so pardon me if I ask some obvious questions.
I am good with programming generally but have always developed on windows then I just upload to a linux server at a host company.
Now I need to set up my own linux server for a project which requires setting up virtual hosts for clients. I chose Debian.
Unfortunately I had installed Apache-Mysql-Php (setting up my dev environment) before realizing virtualmin that i need for setting up the virtual hosts recommends a fresh install. I tried to install it anyway using the Virtualmin GPL but it keeps failing. See error message below

Package scponly is not available, but is referred to by another package.
This may mean that the package is missing, has been obsoleted, or
is only available from another source

Package libgd2-xpm is not available, but is referred to by another package.
This may mean that the package is missing, has been obsoleted, or
is only available from another source

So I try to download the packages but got the dev versions for both. dpkg --install package.deb gave me processing error but I double clicked the packages and the installer ran to completion. However, virtualmins still giving same error.

My question is how do I proceed with the install, do I get a fresh Debian install by all means or can I still work around this?

I am running the latest version of Vitrtualmin GPL on Debian jessie.
thanks for any help.

A fresh Debian install would certainly be the easiest and recommended way for “total Linux noobs”, otherwise you might run into more problems later. Better let the installer do the work for you, and don’t try to configure things manually.

Hmm, “Debian Jessie” is actually Debian testing, which isn’t something that Virtualmin supports yet.

My recommendation would be to use either Debian 7 (Wheezy) if you’d like to use Debian.

-Eric

wow, this is serious. I have to start the Debian install all over?