Ubuntu Default PHP Version - A few questions

SYSTEM INFORMATION
OS type and version Ubuntu Linux 22.04.3
Virtualmin version 7.9.0

Background

• I am new to the linux universe. :smile:
  • When I installed Ubuntu it came with PHP 8.1 ( I think) pre-installed and this is called the default PHP version.
  • You can install different PHP versions by adding an additional repository
  • I know you can change the default PHP version, maye with the command update-alternatives (or similar command)

So I have few questions

• Why do you have to install an additional repository to add in new PHP versions? should they not just be in the main repository?
  • What happens if you uninstall the Ubuntu default PHP version?

thanks

Why would you ever want to do that?
I guess it might never get updated with the latest/current/best PHP for that OS (or maybe it would just be updated/re-installed)

because they are out of date for your current OS

Why would you ever want to do that?

Things get uninstalled by accident. Just curious for disaster recovery point of view.

because they are out of date for your current OS

When you add the ondrej repo you can add 7.4 and old version of PHP or you can add php 8.3 which did not come with my Ubuntu and is newer that 8.3.

There must be another reason. :smile:

Accident! do you let that happen?

ondrej repo is something you choose to add - maybe, but you make that choice.
I still cannot see any reason to install a out-of-date version of PHP.
Especially major versions < 8 (current) or even future versions (that could have potential problems with the OS)

If you are doing this just to support bad/out-of-date web apps there needs to be a conversation with the support team for that web application. Just because it can be done by using the ondrej repo and Virtualmin doesn’t mean it should be done.