Sub domain issues... how to actually sey it up?

I have to admit, i am a noob at this, and hopefully someone could correct me or show me what im doing wrong here.

Basically i cant seem to get the subdomains working :frowning:

lets assume the domain name i have registered is bob.com, and my vps server ip addresses are 100.100.100.1 & 100.100.100.2…

First of all, i did a normal virtualmin install on the vps (running CentOS 5)… seems to work all fine.

Secondly, i registered bob.com using godaddy. then i simply followed little guide (http://www.hostgator.com/godaddy.shtml) and linked ns1.bob.com and ns2.bob.com to 100.100.100.1 and 100.100.100.2…

So im assuming i have set the nameservers up correctly?

then again i went to godaddy domain manager and set the nameservers for bob.com to be <ns1.bob.com and ns2.bob.com>…

logged back into virtualmin on my vps, and created new “virtual server” for bob.com. used ftp to connect to bob.com and uploaded a test page, and is now visible through the browser. so that all seems to work fine.

Now im assuming since i have defined the nameservers for the bob.com aleady, all i need to do to get test.bob.com is to simply create a new virtual server on virtualmin, select the “sub server” option, set the domain name to test.bob.com, leave all the settings at default and let virtualmin do its magic.

well, i did that, but now when i try to use the browser to navigate to test.bob.com it tells me … using http://www.squish.net/dnscheck/ on bob.com tells me its all good (name servers seem to be fine). but using the same site to check test.bob.com shows that it found the correct name server for bob.com but when it asks ns1.bob.com for test.bob.com it returns “Domain exists but there is no such record”…

what am i doing wrong here? O.o

also, assuming this can be fixed, then how do i connect to ftp? using “test.bob.com” as the ftp address?

Thanks in advance. :slight_smile:

Howdy,