Sending mail through SMTP server via Gmail

Alright, so I’ve come here as a last resort hoping to find that last bit of help I need to solve this. I’ve spent the last two days scouring for answers without actually getting anything direct. First off, I’m an amateur at best, and this is all new territory for me when trying to understand these things. I’ll try my best to describe my issue.

On my current virtual server, I’m using Centos 7 with virtualmin installed. I’ve set up the email accounts just fine, and they work well. (I can login using roundcube to send and receive mail just fine as well).

As a convenience to the people who would be using those email accounts, I was trying to do a “send mail as:” through gmail so that they could reply to email coming it as those addresses (as opposed to their own personal gmail).

On Gmail I tried using secured connection on port 587 using TLS

Authentication failed. Please check your username/password. [Server response: Unspecified Error (SENT_EHLO): Unable to send AUTH command over non ssl connection code(0) ]

I’ve double checked to make sure I have the correct username and password (which I do), and tried a couple things to see if anything has worked. Here’s what I’ve done so far, and the fields Gmail is asking for.

SMTP Server: SMTP.domain.com

Username: _________

Password: __________

Port: 25, 465, 587 (as expected)

Secured connection using SSL

Secured connection using TLS

I tried the following …

• uncommented appropriate lines in the master.cf file
  • restarted servers after editing (of course)

Anyway, that’s what I have so far. It feels like I’m just missing something small in order to get it to work.

PS:You can look at this Screenshot to get the idea

Any help would be much appreciated.
Thanks!

I use gmail’s outgoing all the time.
smtp.gmail.com
port 465
SSL/TLS
Auth method OAuth2