Question about DuplicatorPro plugin and user permissions

I have 2 vhosts

dom1.com and dom2.com

dom1.com - user:dom1 group:dom1 Directory:/home/dom1 BackupDir: /home/dom1/backup
dom2.com - user:dom2 group:dom2 Directory:/home/dom2 BackupDir: /home/dom2/backup

on both I have a wordpress installed and each is backup by plugin called DuplicatorPro

How do I set the permissions if I want to backup to:

dom1 - /home/backup/dom1
dom2 - /home/backup/dom2

Should I create a group example “duplicator” and add both users to that group so I can set like that:

/home/backup/ chown root:duplicator
/home/backup/dom1 chown dom1:dom1
/home/backup/dom2 chown dom2:dom2

I am new in Linux that’s why I just want to ask if I add for example:

User:dom1 to a group: duplicator that is already in the group:dom1 this user will become user of both groups or this will change the group from “dom1” to “duplicator” ???

Thank you

As what user does the backup program run natively?

If it’s a WordPress plugin, my guess is that it runs as the user for that domain, in which case the backup directory would need to be in the user’s home directory (for example, /home/[user]/backup), not home/backup/, which the plugin would not have permission to create from a user account.

The permissions would be whatever the program requires, which again would be determined by what user it runs as and how much access it needs.

The documentation for the plugin would probably be a better place to find that information unless someone here happens to be running the same plugin.

Richard

2 Likes

Hello

I don’t think that is about that plugin as you said all the wordpress is using the vhost username all I have to do is give that user permissions to use that folder but I am not sure how to structure the permission so both users can access /home/backup and and separate the permissions to both sub folders

Something like that

/home/backup/ chown root:duplicator
/home/backup/dom1 chown dom1:dom1