Problems with mails - perhaps a subdomain/nameserver issue

I have:
Unmanaged VPS @ Volumedrive.com and bought domains from www.1and1.com. Centos 5.4 with Virtualmin installed.
Virtualmin used my server as hostname and did not ask me for a qualified hostname. In this case it was v-xxx.volumedrive.com

What I have done:
Set an A record to my server ip for my two domains.

What works:
I can access the domain www.mydomain.com
I can log into webmail with www.mydomain.com:20000 and send mail.

What doesn’t work:
I cannot log into webmail.mydomain.com - I have to usewww. mydomain:20000
I cannot receive mails - they bounce.

Question:
What do I have to do to get it to work? Is it a nameserver problem?

I’m a total newbie within Linux and server hosting, but willing to learn.
I appreciate all the help I can so thank you guys in advance.

Howdy,

So, where is your DNS hosted – is it on your server, or at a third party?

If it’s at a third party, that’s no problem, but it does mean that you’d need to setup an ‘A’ record for the name “webmail.mydomain.com” in order for that address to work.

As far as emails bouncing – what bounce message do you see in those emails? Are there any related errors in /var/log/maillog?

-Eric

Hi Eric

Thanks for your reply!

I’m not totally sure what you mean by where the DNS is hosted (my knowledge of DNS is still limited) Right now, DNS is done at www.1and1.com where I bought the domains - and made an A-record pointing to my server ip.

I have not touched nameserver and MX records. Their setting is “1and1 nameserver” and “1and1 mailserver”.

Regarding the A record point to webmail, does that mean I need to add a subdomain in the controlpanel on 1and1 and make an A record pointing to server ip? Anyway I did that - and waiting to see what happens :slight_smile: