Permission issues? FTP and Apache permission denied?

Hey guys so i’m new to Virtualmin only really have experience with cPanel but a friend of mines website took off so we had to move him to a dedicated server. Since we didn’t want to pay the $25 a month for cPanel we chose Virtualmin because you can import cPanel backups.

So i created the backup and imported it into Virtualmin without any issues, the website works fine except for when i login to Wordpress or through FTP.

When i login through FTP and try to edit/create/remove/etc it gives me a permission denied error.

When i login to Wordpress it tells me that my config file and directories are not writable. I tried chmod the directories and config file to 755 but still have the same issue.

The only thing i can think is that is it some type of permission issue having to do with users or groups. Does anybody have any suggestions or can anybody help me with this? I’ve spent numerous hours just trying to figure it out searching google but still can’t seem to figure it out.

Thank you so much for any help in advance!

Howdy,

Well, my initial guess for Apache is that it may be setup for mod_php, which could cause some permissions issues… take a peek in Server Configuration -> Website Options, and see what PHP Execution Mode it’s set to. If you can, I’d typically recommend either CGI or FCGID.

However, I’m not sure why you’d be getting those FTP errors. What user are you using to login via FTP, are you using the Virtual Server owner (ie, the domain’s admin account)?

We may need to review what user the files are owned by, and then compare that to the directory they’re sitting in… but we’ll get to that if the above ideas don’t help :slight_smile:

-Eric

Eric,

Thank you for the quick reply, i originally had it setup for FCGID but anytime i loaded a PHP file it would throw me an Internal Server 500 error and this is what i would see in the apache error log: