Obtain ip(v6) via DHCPv6 client?

I get that this is a server, not an endpoint.
However, in my larger context, it’s just one server on my network…and I have a master router/firewall that manages the bigger picture.

I did some searching and found nothing with respect to activating a DHCPv6 client on Webmin/Virtualmin. (Same goes for ipv4 but right now v6 is my focus :wink: ).

Does anybody have experience or wisdom to share on doing this, or am I just pushing at the wind?

it is end point on your network…

It does start at your router / dhcp… to endpoint which is your server. - my light for you would be if your ISP support ipv6, enable it on your dhcp/router/modem and pass thru and then enable this within virtualmin… recheck configuration to see if virtualmin can see ipv6 and if so, set your dns settings with it and I not see why you cannot be wrong with this setup.

Virtualmin does not have a dhcpv6 client enabled. So it does not know to ask.

I can manually configure it. but it won’t happen automagically :smiley:

I have a standard install of Virtualmin behind a router configured much like yours, I imagine, and here are some screenshots

Ergo, there is some kind of dhcpv6 client at play here, unless I am mistaken.

And I bow to your superior knowledge and experience, @MrPete . I am always willing to be wrong and learn from mistakes.

Presumably, the upper screen shot is from your router.

The real question is, how did that IP (and the 192.168… ip) get into V’min? What you’re showing is NOT where the IP addresses are populated.

Here are all the places I know about:

• Virtualmin: Addresses & Networking → Change IP…
  • Virtualmin: Server Config → Change IP…
  • Webmin: Networking->Network Config

On my install, none of those auto-populate. I had to manually enter my server IP4 address. Same appears to be true for ipv6.

What does yours have that mine does not?

I’m digging further. Very interesting/confusing…

• There is no DHCP in my bootup/shutdown