Need help setting up named servers.

I’m not a complete newbie and have configured stand alone named servers before, but I need some clarification, especially with respect to Virtualmin and Webmin.

I’ve read the information under http://www.virtualmin.com/documentation/dns/ however I have some even more fundamental questions. I have a couple of VPS servers (different hosting companies) running Centos and Virtualmin. Let’s call them example1.com and example2.com. Example1.com also has sample1.com as a virtual host and example2.com has sample2.com. I think it’s a convention to name your dns servers as ns1.xxx, ns2.xxx, etc. Is that true or is it a requirement?

So what I want to do is let example1.com be the primary server for example2.com, example2.com being the secondary (slave???) and vice versa.

The first question is how to define ns1.example1.com. Should it be a subserver, a top-level server or an alias?

Once I have these defined then I assume I have to go to my registrars and mention ns1.example1.com and ns1.example2.com as servers for example2.com and vice versa, ns1.example2.com and ns1.example1.com for example1.com. Is that right so far?

Now when defining the A records or CNAME records I assume on exampl1.com I’ll have to add ns1.example1.com, along with the obligitory www, ftp, mail, etc.

I read about setting up the slave servers using webmin. Does that mean that ns1.example2.com is a slave server to ns1.example1.com? If so then do I need to also perform the same magic on ns1.example2.com making ns1.example1.com the slave of ns1.example2.com, or by becoming a slave will it mirror the other making further configuration unnecessary?

So finally is this the way I should be doing this or is there a better way? Or am I completely off base and need to go back to school?

Thanks,
Jim.

That’s a lot of questions. :slight_smile: Let’s see if I can shine some light on this stuff.