Multiple websites on same VPS

Hi I’m a newbie and I’m not really sure of what I’m doing but:
I have a VPS (vps123.vpsdomain.net) with one IP and what i need is to have all my websites over there.
So I’ve installed Virtualmin on Ubuntu Server 14.04.3 LTS and now I don’t know how to go forward!

Let’s say for example i have 3 php websites projects inside 3 different folders:

1. cookingrecipes
  2. findbestcarforyou
  3. ihavenofantasy

Each website/project should have his own folder, database, his own ftp (like they are 3 different websites, or something like that…)

I would like to move all of them on the VPS

I’m thinking of something like “cookingrecipes.vps123.vpsdomain.net” or “vps123.vpsdomain.net/cookingrecipes” to reach each website.

Can Virtualmin help me to achieve this?

Thanks for your help!

Howdy,

Sure, that’s no problem.

You could always buy 3 domains names, and create 3 different Virtualmin Virtual Servers for that (site1.com, site2.com, site3.com).

Or, you could buy one domain name, and use sub-domains like "domain.com/site1, domain.com/site2, domain.com/site3.

Or, if you don’t wish to buy any domains, you could do what you mentioned above – just reuse your VPS hostname, and use “vps123.vpsdomain.net/cookingrecipes”.

For that, just create a new Virtual Server named “vps123.vpsdomain.net”, and then make a directory named “cookingrecipes” in the public_html folder for that account.

Note that if you do the last option – you can create an FTP account for each one, but technically they’re all part of the same account. One site would be able to access the data from the other sites if they wanted to.

-Eric

Nice! Thanks Eric!

(example)
Well I’ve bought a mydomain.info for only 0.99 on another website

I’ve created the following subdomain:
cookingrecipes.mydomain.info

Created a “Virtual Server” on Virtualmin on my VPS with

“Domain name”->cookingrecipes.mydomain.info

“Administration username”->rootcooking