Mod_security and/or firewall for new setup

Hello virtualminers,
I am new to Virtualmin and I come from cPanel and CWP. I was using mod_security for many years. Now I can not locate such a function but I see many other apps at the Networking area.

I am now going to transfer my first wordpress, opencart and Joomla sites. Is there anything that I have to do for security? Or Virtualmin rocks from the scratch of the setup?

Please advise.

SYSTEM INFORMATION
CentOS Linux 7.9.2009 REQUIRED
2.001 REQUIRED
7.3 Pro REQUIRED
Related packages SUGGESTED

mod_security is not related to network configuration. But, there is not mod_security GUI in Virtualmin.

Nothing stops you from enabling it, though. It’s a one-time thing; just install the package and turn it on (and configure it to use the rule sets you want to use, like the OWASP rules). mod_security is of marginal utility in a system that is well-maintained, but can be useful if you have old apps. mod_security is almost entirely a reactive solution; the rules are mostly based on past attacks, which have usually already been fixed in the software the attacks target. But, since most people aren’t very good at staying up to date, I’ve come around to thinking mod_security is pretty useful, and we’ll be adding it as a Pro feature in Virtualmin 8.

1 Like

I personally like CSF with some pretty tight lfd settings; but the default firewall settings in most Linux distros, plus fail2ban (installed by default with Virtualmin), provide decent security.