Migrating a PHP core Website from another hosting to my Virtualmin

Hi
I’m a newbie to Virtualmin so please go easy … :grinning:
I have a lot of sites in hostgator which I manage via whm
and a techie said this is much cheaper with a vps and virtualmin - so he installed virtualmin on a vps that i got on another hosting service.
Now I am told… I have to migrate all my PHP core sites manually to the vitualmin server
OK So…
I get about create virtual server etc…
So I’ve made that for each domain
and have 3 backups on my hard drive for each website
Full Backup, Home Directory Backup and My SQL Backup
So I basically unzip and Expand the backup on my hard drive go to the public_html folder and FTP everything from my hard drive back up to the home directory public_html folder on the virtual server for that domain.
How do I copy across the My SQL backup to the virtual server? Where do I put this via FTP?
Do I have to create a new database mysql in the VS? and then copy all into that?
I’m not sure
I tried searching for this but there too much stuff about how to migrate WordPress and almost nothing about how to manually take a website from another hosting into virtualmin (a normal core php website)
Also if there is an easier way to just use some software put the full backup in and it’ll do the rest for me?
Please help - or point me to some videos or instructions on this

Thanks
Regards
ASM2

Hello @ASM2 and welcome to the community.

Good for you. One can never have too many backups.

You have already created virtual servers. Good. Drop to shell and

mysqldump -h hostgator-ip -u hostgator-username -phostgator-password hostgatordb | mysql -h localhost -u virtualmin-username -pvirtualmin-password virtualmin-username

This should create a copy of your hostgator database on Virtualmin.

No, when you create a virtual server, a database is also created by default.

1 Like

This is not advice, but only my own experience.