Manually CREATE DATABASE test; then manage it via Virtualmin

Hi guys,

I am new to Virtualmin and hosting control panel. I just set up a virtual machine installed Virtualmin, I created new virtual server with “Can manage database” setting.

I login to Web-GUI with credential for the virtual machine. At “Edit database” tab, I can create or delete the databases in the database list.

But when I ssh to the host (with credential created when creating new virtual server), I can login and use the command “mysql -uexampleUser -p examplePassword”. After that, I can show all database by “SHOW DATABASES”, but when I created a new database like “CREATE DATABASE test;” i got

ERROR 1044 (42000): Access denied for user ‘exampleUser’@‘localhost’ to database ‘test’

I don’t know why I can create new database by Web-GUI but not on CLI. Can you help me?. Thank so much.

Hi,

Virtualmin needs to know about newly created database and how to connect to it.

There is a CLI command to create virtual server’s database properly:

$ virtualmin help create-database

create-database.pl
       Creates a database for a virtual server

This command creates a new MySQL or PostgreSQL database, and associates it with an existing virtual server. You must supply the "--domain"
       parameter to specify the server, "--name" to set the database name, and "--type" followed by either "mysql", "postgres" or some plugin database
       type. It would typically be run something like :

create-database.pl --domain foo.com --name foo_phpbb --type mysql

Some database types support additional creation-time options, specified using the "--opt" flag. At the time of writing, those available for MySQL
       are :

"--opt charset name" - Sets the character set (like latin2 or euc-jp) for the new database.

And for PostgreSQL, the options are :

"--opt encoding name" - Sets the text encoding (like LATIN2 or EUC_JP) for the new database.

Hi Ilia,