manual install on a running server.

Just a question on doing a manual install of Virtualmin on server with Virtualhost already set up. I have 3 sites set up, on a IP based VirtualHost Fedora 13 server… If I do this install, am I going to have to reset up the VHosts?

I’m a noob when it comes to Linux, but I am learning. Just not sure if its worth all the trouble to get it install. There are a lot of Features that come with Virtualmin Pro that I like. and I have already paid for it. So I would like to see if its worth the trouble to try and install it.

Michael

Howdy,

First off, you’re more than welcome to a refund if you find Virtualmin isn’t doing what you want. No one wants you to feel stuck with a product that doesn’t do what you’re after. You can do that by opening a new request in the support tracker, and simply request a refund.

It’s typically possible to import existing sites into Virtualmin if you do a manual install, though how well that works depends on how those sites were setup.

You can see instructions for manually configuring Virtualmin here:

https://www.virtualmin.com/documentation/installation/manual

That said, manual installation is not simple. If you don’t feel particularly comfortable with Linux, I’m not sure that you’d find manual installation and configuration to be an enjoyable experience :slight_smile:

-Eric

Thanks Eric for your response, Wiping out the sites, and starting over is not a big deal, it only took me 30 minutes to get the sites set up, My concern is getting Virtualmin to install on a Fedora system. Even if I have to install Fedora from scratch. and start all over. I have only done this from scratch about 30 times in the last 2 weeks, trying to get everything to work. I can almost do it with my eyes closed. So that is no big deal.