Is it safe to expose virtualmin to Internet

**Operating system: Debian
**OS version:10

I’ve been using webmin-virtualmin exposed to Internet for about 6 years and have no problem. I know about the 2019 backdoor but i had no problem.
Now, im a bit worried because i read everywhere virtualmin should not be exposed to internet because Perl subsystem is vulnerable.
I think many people talk without actually having the knowledge and because there are other tools more popular.
What do you think about it?

yes.

• do you know what you doing? did you set it up saely - ?

I think yes I know what im doing about managing webmin system and a Linux server. What I would like to know is if its safe to have 10000 webmin port exposed to Internet because im not a webmin programmer and I dont know about its internal arquitecture.

@borjaevo yes it is, use very strong password and you should be safe, however please keep in mind as soon as you open port 10000 to internet there could be some bots who would try - with strong password no chance… - I did close my port once site got peak 10k per second as my bandwidth limitations and now connect easy peasy to the port via openvpn or ssh (with key auth only) and its safe heaven.

This is completely bizarre. Sorry. Virtualmin was not affected with that Perl issue you’re talking about. Besides, those other Perl issues should be fixed upstream by now.

It is safe to have it exposed to the internet.

… because i read everywhere

Where exactly did you read this?

1 Like

Probably the same place that fellow read there were 183 steps to installing Virtualmin rather than just two.

You might use 2-factor login for extra safety.
I use Authy, which is free and works well with VirtualMin.