Install sendmail analyzer on Ubuntu

Has anyone installed Sendmail analyzer on Virtualmin system?

I tried doing it but I’m not an expert with servers so I’m not able to do it and would really appreciate if someone could assist me. I followed the installation steps and am stuck on Post install steps. Step 2 says modify your apache configuration to add the mentioned code. I added it to /etc/apache2/apache2.conf above the IncludeOptional directives and restarted apache2.

Step 3 is “If necessary, give additional host access to SendmailAnalyzer.”. I believe I need to give access to one of the servers through with I will be able to access the reports? But I don’t know how exactly they want me to do it, I guess they didn’t mention because it would be different for each installation.

Step 4 is to access yourdomain.com/sareport/. This is not working for me, I tried the server’s FQDN and a few other domains, I get a 403 forbidden error.

I hope its not off topic for Virtualmin.

You should not install anything outside of a VirtualHost in a Virtualmin system. Put any apps into a VirtualHost, and everything will go much easier.

Oh, this is also a CGI script, which introduces further concerns. You didn’t tell us your OS and version, so I can’t provide specific guidance.

Sorry, OS is Ubuntu 20.04. Virtualmin is 7.5

Are you saying I should put that code in one of sites-enabled/*.conf file? Would that limit the script to accessing a specific domain’s mail logs?

I’m trying to have a visual representation of server’s outgoing mails to make sure no server is spamming or sending way too many emails. If you know of a better way to do it, please let me know. Something like awstats, but for postfix.

There is only one mail log.

It didn’t work. I added it to one of the server’s conf file.

You are playing with fire.

Messing with a script that hasn’t been updated in three years is begging for trouble.

Okay I’ll back off of this. Can you suggest an alternative?