Install On Server With Only IPV6

I am trying to do a new install on a server that only has an IPV6 address. When trying to contact the VM server to download it comes up as not found.

The server support has said that this is because I only have an IPV6.

Any thoughts on how to over come this?

I think - without being too blunt you need a IP4 (A record) to connect. The usual complaint is why do I need IP6.

Why can’t you have an IP4 address? I know getting a good clean one is difficult but even a “dirty” one is very easy if your box is with one of the VM providers.

First, am not sure of the issue here – are you unable to SSH your way to your new server, or — once on the server you cannot ‘reach’ the Virtualmin or Webmin repos in order to start the download and installation?

if you cannot SSH into your new server, while I have no personal experience, I thought somewhere on the internet were ipv4–ipv6 gateways/proxies/brokers that can be used for such things.

and the more I think about it, I wonder if those same proxies (?) can be used if the virtualmin/webmin servers only support ipv4 — perhaps when you said

to contact the VM server to download

that is the issue you have encountered? In general, while labor intensive, I think its possible to use another server (or your home PC) to download the DEB or RPM files from (again assuming you are installing Virtualmin) – software.virtualmin.com, then manually upload them to your new server, then install the software from those local linux files.

@Stegan I can get an IPV4 for an additional cost (I just deleted a server which had IPV4 to upgrade to a better one, without!!!)

@verne I can ssh into the server and ping other sites e.g. google. The issue is outgoing connectivity from the server to some sites e.g. google works, Virtualmin doesn’t.

just gussing here – see if https://nat64.net/ is a solution for you

Reading about it, that might have worked - thanks.