How should I set up a wordpress staging site?

SYSTEM INFORMATION
**OS type and version:**Debian 10
**Webmin version:**1.981
**Virtualmin version:**6.16
**Related products version:**Wordpress 5.8 (as per install script), Linode (if that helps)

Hi all,
First post here so please let me know if I’ve missed anything or you need further info.

Firstly please let me get a meta question out of the way:
tl:dr Wordpress feels pretty bad for development in comparison to e.g. Vue or Nuxt.

I am looking at building a small ecommerce site, either with wordpress or with nuxt/vue. I have used vue for a couple of years and, although I’m no expert, it just seems way better from a developer’s perspective to use something like that than wordpress. The only reason I can see is possibly for the client’s ease of use after the handover process (except that there are now dashboards for sale for various frameworks that are similar to woocommerce etc.). Anyone chip in on this please!

The real question:
tl:dr if someone knows a( hopefully up to date) guide in virtualmin please link it :slight_smile:

I want to be able to have a staging site on the same server where virtualmin is installed. The reason behind this being (adding to the meta question above) it’s so easy to bork an instance of wordpress through an accidental click that you can’t rollback or recover. Unlike developing with an actual codebase that you can use gitlab/gitea/bitbucket to version control.

However I have tried this by creating a subserver, e.g. staging.my-wp-site.com but this is pretty unwieldy afaict. The staging site can only be accessed through the ‘View Site’ functionality (fair enough I think?) and I don’t seem to be able to install plugins etc. - am I missing something like having to update records in the staging site in relation to the production site?