Hi !! Need help

Im a newbie to servers.
somehow i managed to install Virtualmin.(thanks to everybody)

My problem is
when i try to create a subdomain i get a error
"""Error
Failed to create virtual server : Virtual FTP cannot be enabled unless a virtual IP address is allocated"

then I searched the internet and some told me to uncheck the "proftpd server" box in the "Features and Plugins"

I tryed to do that but even for that i get a error
""Failed to save enabled features : The Suexec command on your system is configured to only run scripts under /var/www, but the Virtualmin base directory is /home. CGI and PHP scripts run as domain owners will not be executed""

please if some one can give step by step instruction to this matter i would realy appriciate it…

also i got another problem
I create users (Mail and FTP Users)
but for user name I put "gayan"
but the system automaticly plus up another word same as my root folder "gayan.ozgayan"

why is this??

please help

Im a newbie to servers.

It’s no problem, we’re all new sometime :slight_smile:

When you’re creating a new Virtual Server, in the “Enabled features” section of the screen, one of the options is “Setup IP-based virtual FTP”.

You’ll probably want to uncheck that.

You do want “FTP” in general, but the above option is special and does something you aren’t likely to need at the moment.

However, the “suexec” related message you’re getting is the more troubling of the above :slight_smile:

How did you go about getting Virtualmin installed?

That particular error suggests that you may have done it the hard way, unfortunately :slight_smile:

There is an install.sh script that actually does all the work for you, pulling in the various packages you need and configuring them.

The suexec error means that the Apache related packages you have installed are the ones supplied by your distribution, rather than by Virtualmin (a problem normally resolved by the install.sh script).