Full local disk space. Need guide to expand!

Operating system: CentOS Linux 7.8.2003
Webmin version 1.955
Usermin version 1.803
Virtualmin version 6.12
Local disk space 7.13 GiB used / 625.8 MiB free / 7.74 GiB total

Hi,
I am a newbie, after lots of time find a way to expand disk space myself, I cannot do anything

I go to Webmin -> Hardware -> Partitions on Local Disks and see I have 2 disks:

1: SCSI device A = 102.39 GiB - VMware virtual disk

Location SCSI device A partition 1 Device file /dev/sda1
Type Linux EXT Extent 1 - 13055 of 13054
Status Not in use Size 102.4 GiB

2: SATA device B = 8.18 GiB - ATA VMware Virtual I

Location SCSI device B partition 1 Device file /dev/sdb1
Type Linux EXT Extent 1 - 1045 of 1044
Status Mounted on / as ext4 Size 8.19 GiB

Please guide me how to merge disk 1 into disk 2 because my disk 2 is currently full

Thanks,

It can be done but it’s not easy to merge two separate disks and make them appear as one. Best thing would be to move the home directory over to the other hard drive. There are guides on how to do this.

You have a 102 GB disk and a 8 GB disk. You have installed Virtualmin on the 8 GB disk. You have run out of storage space and wish to use the larger disk.

The easiest way forward for a newbie would be to take a backup of your websites / virtual servers, reinstall Virtualmin on the larger disk and restore your backups.

The advanced user would take the quicker route of creating an image / snapshot (hey, your VPS host might offer this feature, you should check) of the 8 GB, restore to the 102 GB disk and boot from it. Another option is to keep using the 8 GB but mount /home to the larger disk.

Which of these would you like to do?

thanks stuckinthehouse

Yes calport,
I checked VPS host and found that I can take snapshot from my small disk. but cannot find a way to restore and boot from the other. Can you guide me how to do that please? Thanks a lot