Fresh Install, unable to get to config

SYSTEM INFORMATION
Rocky Linux 9 REQUIRED
Latest Virtualmin REQUIRED

Hello,

I’m fairly new to this and I’m just trying to test and decide for the future. I have installed using the curl instructions to my server and set a subdomain as host.

I have the A Record set to the subdomain and the IP to my freshly installed Rocky Linux VM.

After installing I can go to the IP address and it will load up my index.html in /var/www/html, but when putting port 10000 it will not load the configuration either through my ip address or the subdomain I set up.

No errors during the install, the port is open. I’m at a loss. If any more information needed please let me know.

Thank you.

Have you tried https://server.ip:10000

Yes, it just times out trying to reach it.

If you do the following command does it show port 10000 open

sudo firewall-cmd --list-all

Have you logged in via ssh and checked webmin is running if not try a restart and check miniserv.log for errors if it fails to start, in fact reviewing mniserv.log would be a good idea along with, if present, miniserv.error to start with. If i remember correctly those files are located at /etc/webmin

Port is open and webmin is running.

Loaded: loaded (/usr/lib/systemd/system/webmin.service; enabled; preset: disabled)
Active: active (running) since Mon 2024-06-10 17:32:13 UTC; 56min ago

And I’m not seeing any log or error files in /etc/webmin

Have you checked there is something listening on port 10000 ? Another thing to consider if you are using cloudflare there are other hoops to jump through as cloudflare doesn’t open port 10000, I don’t know exactly you have to do as i don’t use cloudflare but it’s something like changing the port or turning the proxy off but if you search for cloudflare on this forum you will find a few topics on the subject

What happens if you reload the firewall?

sudo firewall-cmd --reload

You can still access your server using the IP address and port.