Fresh cPanel to Virtualmin converted

Yes I did convert successyullf and I was very happy but when I visited my url there was still nothing … nothing found … when I want to see(ping www.mysite.com) the ip of my website it is also not possible… I am totally new to webmin and virtualmin, I have no idea what to do …

So let me tell you the steps I watched:

install debian 6
install webmin
install virtualmin
install mail, apache, mysql etc. for virtualmin to work
upload my cPanel backup
convert my cPanel backup

I visit the IP address:

"It works!

This is the default web page for this server.

The web server software is running but no content has been added, yet."

Now what to do next to make things working and people visiting my website just like in the old times?

Thank you very much,
Anarchy

Howdy,

Well, the way we’d recommend setting up a server and migrating cPanel is:

1. Install your distro (in your case, Debian 6)

2. Install Virtualmin with the install.sh script (available in the Downloads link above)

3. Once Virtualmin is installed, go into Add Servers -> Migrate Virtual Server, and import your cPanel backup

It sounds like you may have done a manual installation (ie, without using the install.sh script).

If so, that’s the more difficult way of going about an install, and a lot of things would need to be manually configured in in order to get them working properly.

If you didn’t use the install.sh, is there any chance you could start over with a fresh install of your OS, and use the install.sh to perform the Virtualmin setup (which handles installing and configuring all the dependencies)?

-Eric

Hi Eric,

I did what you told me ,

1. installed fresh os
  2. used install.sh to install virtualmin(this installed webmin and usermin too)
  3. uploaded my cpanel backup and migrated it.
  4. I got the migration successful message.