File manager default download directory

Please forgive me if I sound stupid, I am a newbie.

I really like Webmin, it helps me to manage my server without using a lot of line commands.
My problem is on the Other-file manager function, I was able to download any files on the Ubuntu server into a window directory using MS Edge. However, for whatever reason, it does not download to my designated directory and goes to a temp directory embedded Deep in the apps/Edge…/tempstate/ directory. When I normally browse a website and download a file, it goes into the default directory, normally c:/username/download/ as default.

How can I change webmin?

That’s up to your browser. Webmin has no control over it.

Joe
Thank you.
I understand that is determined by my browser. I forgot to mention, however, every other file downloads are d/l into my designated directory except webmin file downloads.

Hi @jackwan1 I agree with Joe, it’s a browser setup. You should use something which is within modern Web standards compliance like Firefox or chromium or Google chrome. Edge us ms product and since it works it does not mean it its play by global Web standards or rules. Even if its build up on same engine like chrome. No one can tell, the source code is closed.

Just show some love to Web and use modern Web browser not crapware :wink:

Hello @jackwan1 you might want to try setting the download location of MS Edge. See https://support.microsoft.com/en-in/help/4026331/microsoft-edge-change-the-downloads-folder-location

New MS Edge is Chromium with Redmond bells and whistles. I just tried it and my test downloaded to my %userprofile%\Downloads folder just fine. It sounds like your installation’s profile is partly broken or needs reconfiguring…

Edge is fine.

But, we still have no control over where it downloads files.