config ns1 and ns2

Hi, I’m new to the VPS world, create a VPS in Digital Ocean and install virtual min.

I have a doubt.

I have the domain1.com and domain2.com

Both domains I have registered at name.com
and both are targeted to ns1.digitalocean.com and ns2.digitalocean.com

the domain1.com is the one that I have configured in Digitalocean, created the corresponding DNS.

On that domain1 install virtuamin.
To enter tipeo dominio1.com:10000

until there everything perfect.

Now within Virtuamin create a Virtual server.

When I try to ping or enter through any browser, it will not let me.

I calculate that the problem is that the NS1 and NS2 should point to the virtuamin and not to digitl ocean, I’m right ???

I did not find in virtuamin how to confirm those 2 details nor the name that I should put in name.com to the ns1 and ns2 of domain2

Thank you

hi gLew,

1. you have a digital ocean droplet on which you installed virtualmin
  2. Make sure at your domain registrar, you have added custom name server records that enable your domain registrar server to tell the world to ask digital ocean’s nameservers (ns1 and ns2) in order to find the server location (ipaddress) where your website is being hosted
  3. in your digital ocean interface ns records, you need to also add the ipaddress of your droplet and any cname records etc. Otherwise, when the registrar server tell’s the world to go to digital oceans name servers for the ipaddress, digital ocean’s name servers dont actually have any ip address in them yet in order to tell the world what you website ipaddress is. the result will be an error.
  4. Also ensure that you have added a rule opening port 10000 on your digital ocean droplet as it most likely isnt open by default.