Can't open port 5000

For one of my websites to work it is required to open port 5000. To make this happen, I have opened the port from the Webmin Firewalld by adding port 5000 tcp.

But when I check on the port checker website by putting my server IP and port 5000, it shows the port is closed/blocked.

I am new to Webmin and recently migrated from another panel. I had no issue with opening a port from my previous panel (Cyberpanel). I am using same OS, same VPS server, just the webpanel is changed which is Webmin/virtualmin now.

Anyway, I am stuck for this issue since a week. Here are some screenshots for reference.

SYSTEM INFORMATION
OS type and version Ubuntu 22.04
Webmin version 2.111

Does your VPS provider have a firewall also? Have you checked to make sure the service is listening on port 5000?

netstat -ap |grep 5000

From a an outside box
traceroute -p 5000 yourdomain.tld

My VPS provider don’t have any firewall at their end.

As I have already mentioned at the original post- Its the same VPS, just a fresh installation of Ubuntu with Webmin.

Previously it was all fine with the port 5000 or any other port I need to open, when I was using Cyberpanel.

I know this is simplistic, but, we need to confirm all steps. We seem to get burned by this all the time. :frowning:

After a rule is created, it must be applied;

From a terminal:
firewall-cmd --list-ports

Again, we need to know the service is actually running and listening on the port so from the terminal:
netstat -ap |grep 5000

Yes I forget to mention that I have “applied” rules that I added multiple times… Also restarted firewalld service, restarted the VPS several times.

It doesn’t look like anything is running on port 5000.

2000 is the port for Usermin, you should see something like this. (note the -ap flag is all and program) :

root@main:~# netstat -ap |grep 20000
tcp        0      0 0.0.0.0:20000           0.0.0.0:*               LISTEN      2493307/perl