Cannot write to directory /etc/webmin/virtual-server/

I’m trying to set up server templates, the default template for Directives and settings for new websites and I get this error.

As far as I can tell that directory exists as it should, I’ve even tried giving it 777 permissions so anything can write to it just so I can get past this step. What else could cause it to fail to write? Does virtualmin keep an error log somewhere that I can get a more verbose message?

I’m no novice to linux admin, but I don’t know where to look for what virtualmin is failing on here. I could make all my virtualhost entries manually but that’s kind of counter to the point.

running Virtualmin 3.75 gpl on Debian Lenny.

Hmm, I’ve never seen Virtualmin have problems writing to that dir. Virtualmin runs as root, so it in theory should have permission to write anywhere it likes.

I suppose my two questions are:

1. How did you go about installing it? Had you used the install.sh script?

2. Are you using something like SELinux on your server?

Regarding logs – you can take a peek in /var/webmin/miniserv.error, that may have some further info in it.

-Eric

I did run install.sh to get it installed. I notice I didn’t have default templates for domains like some people have mentioned having.

Unfortunately all I’ve got in miniserv.error is:

Error: Cannot write to directory /etc/webmin/virtual-server/

I have not isntalled SELinux, but I went ahead and put selinux=0 in my grub config and rebooted just to be sure.

I received the same error when installing via the install.sh script, on a fresh install of Ubuntu 8.04 LTS (64bit).

Initially, it threw a proftpd error. After I installed it manually, via apt-get, I received these errors.

Here’s what I tried to get it working:

1. I did a mkdir to create the “virtual-server” folder and touch to create the missing config file.