Backup the whole Ubuntu machine

Hi
I’m new with this, so I need urgent help to get started.

I have set up an Ubuntu 20.04 server on a ThinkPad with static IP in my network
Installed Virtualmin.
Since I had to start from scratch (bad misconfiguration by setting up a restya install script)
I look for a solution to back up the whole machine to a connected USB Disk.

As I’m new I would prefer a simple solution to back up and be able to restore the machine in case of an accident.

Is there a function in Virtualmin to save the whole machine?

You want to:

1. Make an image of a disk
    or
  2. Make an image of a partition

You could use the free and open source Clonezilla or Google phrases 1 and 2 for more options. Virtualmin can backup itself (i.e. Virtualmin own configuration) or the virtual servers (i.e. domains) that are hosted on a Virtualmin server but it does not have a function to save the whole machine.

There is only on HD in the ThinkPad
I want to make an image like in windows with e.g paragon to be able to restore the HD of the machine as it is at the time of the backup.
Which tool should I use?
Is it also possible to do this from a Windows 10 PC via network?

Connect a USB HDD / portable disk / USB disk (for use as destination of your image) to your ThinkPad and boot into Clonezilla from a CD.

Ah!
That’s the way!
But no cd drive
But I now understand the way.
I have a boot stick with Paragon free
will it be also able to back up the Linux HD?

I don’t know how Paragon handles Linux filesystems. I haven’t used it since I sold my tech support business about a decade ago. However, Clonezilla can be run from a bootable flash drive.

Also consider dd, partimage, Mondo Rescue, Bacula, or Redo Backup and Recovery. There are many paths to your goal.

Richard

OK so far
BUT!
I want to use the ThinkPad when it is configured as a server
Without keyboard mouse & screen like a VPS but @Home