Which OS is better for VM?

Hello,

I have a VPS with Debian 8 and Webin+Virtualmin pre-installed.

I am going to buy another VPS with another provider, whether I have to choose the OS. I can install:
Cent OS 8
Cent OS 7
Debian 10
Debian 9
Ubuntu 18.04
Ubuntu 16.04
Ubuntu 19.10

I have better experience with debian (and ubuntu), so I prefer that, but are there some differences between debian 9 and 10? Is 10 stable?

Should I consider CentOS? (I saw more topics about CentOS here)

Provider will not install virtualmin, but only Webmin (+LAMP), so I’ll have to install myself

My comment is on your last line. I would start with stock OS only. Do not install webmin or lamp. Let the virtualmin installer handle all of that.

1 Like

Virtualmin installer will handle php,mysql etc?
Then I have to configure something about VPS? (ip address, dsn etc)

I am not an expert, maybe with webmin+LAMP I have some configuration (firewall dsn etc)
Maybe only webmin? virtualmin installer handle and install apache, mysql and php?

I saw this tutorial:

in this there are pre-configuration like webmin+LAMP

The Virtualmin installer will install everything needed for hosting domains/websites(virtualmin). It installs webmin 1st then everything for hosting services. It can be done the way you suggest but letting the installer handle it all eliminates config errors that may happen when done manually.
Edit: more detailed install steps for newer users, this is on ubuntu.
Goto installer page above. Right click on installer.sh link, copy the link. Goto to the command line of your VM and type wget (then control+shift+v) to paste the link you just copied. Should end up with wget http://software.virtualmin.com/gpl/scripts/install.sh
Hit enter, it will download install.sh to the current directory. ls to show its there.
Now need to make install.sh executable.
At the command line again, type chmod +x install.sh or sudo chmod +x install.sh