Webmin not appearing

I’ve been using webmin to admin my server for a few years now. However, I haven’t had to add any new domains to the server for ages to haven’t opened up webmin recently. However, just tried to and the page just hangs and hangs, nothing appears. I’m running on default port 10000 remotely, so usually access it here:

http://my.ip:10000/

There was an attack on my server a while ago as my hosting provider asked me to re config ssh access to ssh 2 only and on a different port to the default. I did this. I wonder if this has something to do with webmin not displaying? Have tried to revert ssh access to the default settings and restart the service and still no webmin.

Have also restarted webmin via commandline.

Still no joy.

Any suggestions gratefully received :slight_smile:

ssh and Webmin are in no way related.

I’d suggest making sure you have the latest version of Webmin (get it from webmin.com) first–if you haven’t used in in “ages”, then it’s out of date. :wink:

And, make sure there is no firewall between you and the server on port 10000 (possibly the firewall on the server itself).

Hi Joe

Thanks for the response. If I get the latest version of webmin will it then lose all my virtualmin domains and webmin preferences?

ie, is there a safe way to upgrade webmin via commandline?

Thanks again

Ah, you didn’t tell us you had Virtualmin, too. You leave us guessing.

But, yes, there is a safe way to upgrade, though you should make backups of your /etc directory before doing anything else (because I’m guessing from your tone that you don’t already have known good backups of your whole system…). So, backup /etc to a tarball somewhere:

tar czvf /root/etc-backup.tar.gz /etc

This will contain a copy of your /etc/webmin/virtual-server directory, which is where the Virtualmin meta-data lives. Please start keeping regular backups (once Webmin is working for you and it becomes easy)!