Warning - errors were found in this domain's DNS records : This domain has email enabled, but none of the MX records...

I recently started using virtualmin, so I’m fairly new, although I’ve some experience with Webmin/BIND.

CentOS 6.2/Virtualmin 3.92.gpl

I’ve succesfully setup 2 different domains, BIND with auto tranfer to secondary via Webmin. Websites working, now I came to the point of also setting up e-mail.

So I check ‘Mail for domain enabled’.

When I go to: Server Configuration -> DNS Records

the following message at top of the page appears in red:

Warning - errors were found in this domain’s DNS records : This domain has email enabled, but none of the MX records mail.mydomain.com point to it. Either the MX records should be corrected, or the email feature disabled if mail is hosted externally.

The mail does actually work! (I tested it by sending mail from my gmail account.)

It created 2 extra records, which seems fine to me:

mail.mydomain.com. IN A 1.2.3.4
mydomain.com. IN MX 5 mail.mydomain.com.

Why do I get this message, only thing I can think of (I’m a newbie to Postfix), that I send up my machine behind NAT (it’s a static on a Cisco ASA from a real world IP to my inside IP)
(I set System Settings -> Virtualmin configuration -> Networking settings -> Default IP address for DNS records to it’s public IP 1.2.3.4)

So outside public IP: 1.2.3.4 and internal IP: 10.1.1.90

Any ideas?

sounds okay actually. Did you also check your domain on www.intodns.com to see if it comes up with any errors?

Hi Ronald, thanks for your comment. I indeed did do a DNS check with intodns.com and dnscheck.iis.se (all green).

Both reporting evertyhing is fine. I did some more testing and technically everything is working just fine.