Virtualmin not creating web documents in /var/www/

Hello All,

Yes, I'm new to the virtualmin package however, i have had much success in installing the software -- very smooth! My issue is that when i create a web location on the local box instead of going into /var/www/ it creates the location in the home folder. 

I have disabled the suexec, and changed the apache data to reflect /var/www/ instead of ${home} which for some reason keeps reverting back to the ${home} string. Any suggestions? ANY help would be much appreciated. 

Thank you,
Anthony.

My issue is that when i create a web location on the local box instead of going into /var/www/ it creates the location in the home folder.

This isn’t an issue. This is great! :wink:

But, if you really want user homes to live in /var/www you’ll need to alter configuration. In Virtualmin’s Module Config, look in “Defaults for new domains” and set the “Home directory base” to /var/www.

There may be other aspects of the system that need to know about this change…but most are gonna correctly use $HOME.

Joe,

Thanks for the reply, It’s rather odd to me that it uses the home directory (not 100% however, i’m used to, Ubuntu using /var/www/). I didn’t see the bottom where i was supposed to check to be notified, and thus the reason for not replying in a timely fashion.

I have gotten it working, and am now having BIND issues. UGH! Will work through it, i must say that this virtual product is quite impressive and i’d love to learn more. Any resources in paperback? or possibly PDF?

Regards,
Anthony.

Any resources in paperback? or possibly PDF?

Currently no. Webmin has two books available (one by Jamie and one by me; Jamie’s was comprehensive in 2003, mine is more newbie-friendly but covers less ground; both are still in print and available from Amazon, but are a little out of date these days). We merged them a year or two ago and imported them into a wiki:

http://doxfer.webmin.com/Webmin/