Using Virtualmin and Bitnami

I’m using CentOS 6.4.

I have Virtualmin and a version of Bitnami setup. Both are working fine, independently (I disabled the system Apache and MySQL, to use the Bitnami contained versions).

Is there anyway to create a new VirtualHost so that it works with Bitnami?

I’ve changed the values under /etc/webmin/apache/config (I realized you could do this via the browser after, hah).

If I point the Bitnami Apache server to try read from the Virtualmin-generated folder, I’ll get a 403 Forbidden error. I presume this is due to being a permissions issue.

What can I do to have everything working? It would be nice to be able to use Virtualmin’s features (and have AWstats!) and mix well with the Bitnami stack.

Thanks!

While I’m not an expert on these things, it seems to me that trying to get Virtualmin and Bitnami to work side-by-side is like trying to run two Linux distributions at the same time on the same machine. :slight_smile:

You will certainly run into a lot of issues with this. So I suppose the first question would be: Why would you not use Apache and MySQL, but still want to use Virtualmin?

Thanks for the reply. I am not super-experienced with Linux and having something like Virtualmin for simple management is always helpful.

I’m looking to have it all. As I mentioned, I am using the Apache/MySQL provided by the Bitnami container and was hoping to have Virtualmin work with it instead.

Howdy,

Yeah, unfortunately, Virtualmin was designed to work with a different set of packages, on a freshly installed version of CentOS.

It’s not that it couldn’t be made to work – but it’s going to be a fairly steep uphill battle trying to get everything to work together properly.

Virtualmin comes with an Apache package that’s designed to work in /home – the reason you’re getting errors at the moment is that, by default, other Apache packages are designed for that (specifically, suexec is compiled to work with /var/www).