To Secure Virtualmin with HTTPS Or Not?

Hi, folks:
I’m not a stranger to Virtualmin, however I’m just getting started doing specific things I’d like to do with it at the moment.
Also, having money to shel out loads of SSL certificates though i’d like to do this and go comircial with them, is just not an option for me at this point and time.
So the question to secure Virtualmin, or risk atackers gaining root access etc?
Not that any of you know my master admin password, of course. :stuck_out_tongue:
I’m just curious what you folks would advise?
Right now, if I were to setup WHMCS or any thing else and you were to need to access an account on my system, you’d get a self-signed certificate warning in a majority of browsers advising you to stear clear and considering the nature of self-signed I’d agree, and most likely not trust my own site, though that’s a bit different since I’m the site admin.
In case this provides me with any level of security, or not, I did at virtualmin installation time, set the system to use encrypted passwords vs plain text.

Any thoughts here?

Thanks!

You can get SSL certificates for less than $10 nowadays. I’d guess it would depend on how many servers you need to secure.

I think its a lot more professional to have proper SSL certificates, plus most people will see the warning and be immediately put off, as they will think it is unsecure.

You don’t need an “official” SSL certificate. You can use your own (“self-signed”) SSL certificates. virtualmin does this by default actually.

Self-signed certificates offer the same level of security for your purpose (“if you are the only one to log into Virtualmin”). You just need to confirm an exception in your browser for your self-signed certificates.

If you don’t like this, you can always tunnel into your system via ssh (which is probably the safest way).