There Were No Fatalities

This past week, I updated all four of my Win10 Pro computers to Version 20H2.

They all survived.

That is all. Carry on.

Richard

I have been upgrading my Fedora Server in production for the past 5+ years but last time I was trying to upgrade my gaming PC running Windows 10 (to version .2004) it just didn’t work and unrolled failed-to-install updates, literally, over ten times within few months period. It was frustrating.

I was expecting the worst. I started with the computer I use least (it’s mainly for guests), and worked my way up to the one I’m using now, to give myself a chance to assess the damage on the lesser-used machines first.

But there was none. Everything went smoothly. I was shocked. And mind you, I was updating from Version 1909. I skipped 2004.

Richard

1 Like

For computers with M.2 SSDs booting 20H2, make sure it’s patched for the chkdsk /f bug that may or may not convert the drive to RAW (don’t have the KB number handy). A reader on some tech blog described the problem technically enough: “That’s like a fire extinguisher that explodes when you use it.” I think this Windows bug gets the Doozy award for 2020.

1 Like

Thanks. I wasn’t aware of that. I suspect it was rolled into the update since it came out last week, but I do some digging to make sure.

Richard

Microsoft Windows has had some huge changes to their whole file system, the way they do upgrades, etc… over the years. :yum:
I actually had my upgrade to 20H2 not go well, and there were weird things happening after upgrade, mouse not working completely ( Skipping, slow response), Windows and menus were not all working correctly… :scream:
my laptop has a huge install with Dev tools, Docker, about 40 software apps, etc… So I dreaded it and had to backup and re-install from scratch. :sob: :sob: