Question about "System groups"

When creating/adding VMs and physical servers there is a “System groups” field.

What is this for and what does it do?

It looks like all groups are visible to all users, so in a multi-tenant environment if one user creates a group it will also be visible to other users. That is undesirable to say the least.

Is there a way to simply disable this feature? I don’t see a good use for it in our environment.

Howdy,

I passed on your thoughts to Jamie, who said:

That's a good point .. I don't see any good reason to allow system owners to manage groups. I will make this an owner- and plan-level permission in the next release, and turn it off by default.

Thanks for your input on all that!

-Eric