Problem upgrading to virtualmin pro

Ok I’m a virtualmin noob and I could use some help with upgrading from GPL to Pro. I Currently have virtualmin gpl installed on ubuntu 7.10. Its working fine at the moment. The trouble is that i can’t upgrade my install to virtualmin pro.

I clicked the Upgrade to Virtualmin Pro link in the UI and enter my serial and license key and all i get is this:

Upgrade to Virtualmin Pro

Creating Virtualmin license file …
… done

Downloading and installing modules …

Installing virtual-server version 3.52 ..
  .. version 3.522.gpl is already installed

Some errors occurred while upgrading your system to Virtualmin Pro. Please check the messages above for possible causes.

What am I doing wrong?

It is a bug: installing on another server virtualmin version 3.49 the "upgrade" procedure to the PRO version works good.

It is normal? I’ve to install 3.49 on my servers by default?

Thank you

Where did you get 3.51? It doesn’t exist publicly, yet. :wink:

Once 3.51 becomes available, the upgrade should work…you can fake it by changing the version string in /usr/libexec/webmin/virtual-server/module.info to something lower (3.49). You’ll need to restart Webmin to pick up the version change.

Thk u Joe, we’ve found it on webmin public repository:
http://download.webmin.com/download/virtualmin/virtual-server-3.51.gpl.wbm.gz

And we’ve used it because we tought that 3.51 should be a newer release.
Btw, we’ve witched back to 3.49.

Thank for the support

Hi, Joe! I’ve been using Virtualmin 3.55 GPL for a little while now on Ubuntu 7.10. When I try to upgrade, I enter the License and Serial, but it seems to hang on the APT upgrade process. I get a lot of 404 errors. I’ve attached the errors in a text file.

Any ideas?

Thanks,
Andrew

Hi Andrew,

First, thanks for using Virtualmin! Now onto the hard part :slight_smile:

Looking at your logs, it looks like you’re trying to upgrade to Virtualmin Pro?