problem after running all the apache2/php5 upgrade

Hey guys and gals,

Pardon the fact that I am a noob lamer. I’ve run a linux server for about 5 years now and readily admit I have done little to learn about the inner workings of this world. I can turn you into a pretzel teaching Photoshop, but the server thing is more of a need to know thing for me.

Well, when it breaks, I NEED TO KNOW!

Anyhow, all these upgrades popped up on my admin panel tonight and I ran them and summarily brought the server down in doing so. Some really odd things happened.

Running Debian, jic that matters.

First, the upgrade enabled Suexec and put suexec directives in all my domain directives (as seen by edit directives from each domain’s apache config panel in virtualmin)

After doing some searching here, I realized that is not a good thing, so I disabled suexec in the apache cp.

I then had to go into each domain’s directives files and delete the top line that referred to Suexec.

Still a problem, kept getting overlapping domains when trying to start apache.

I looked under networking and addressing in the Global Apache Config panel and my Addresses for name virtual servers was set to *:80, which I knew wasn’t good, because I have one domain on its own IP addie, so I replaced the * with the actual IP addie for the virtual host, and bingo! Apache started right up.

Ok… now I know there’s a lot of people snickering at me now, that’s fine :o) I’m just a dumb-assed noob anyhow. Just wanted to post this to see if anyone else has had this issue after the upgrade on or after 2/14/09

Server’s running, all is well, just wanted to report this happening, because it’s got to be a bug somewhere in the upgrade process, probably due to Apache itself?

</ramblings>

Steve

After doing some searching here, I realized that is not a good thing

Suexec is a very good thing…for times and places where suexec is a good thing.