Permission denied while trying to cd /home/username

I set up a fresh server and ran the install.sh script. I was toying around with Virtual and Webmin as I’ve never used to before.

On my server I created a user outside of *min and added it to the admin usergroup, set PermitRootLogin to no in sshd_config and added admin to sudoers group.

Then inside of Virtualmin I created a couple different virtual servers, jumped back to shell and attemped to cd /home/username/public_html so that I could create an index.html with my admin user.

I recieve a -bash: cd: ./username/public_html: Permission denied when trying to view any of my Virtualmin created user home directories with this outside admin user I have made. However if I su username and then cd into the outside admin user’s home directory it works no problem (and of course so does root).

I’ve tried googling this some but I figured I might get a better response here.

What is preventing me from seeing any other user’s directory created with Virtualmin when I am not using a system user account that I created from command line?

Okay I just read the responses within http://www.virtualmin.com/node/16330

I understand the premise but could someone enlighten me as to what is actually going on?

Is everybody but the owner of the home directory denied read access? Why are those users then allowed to read anything outside of their home dir?

Howdy,

Users are only allowed to see files and directories marked with “world read” access.

Most directories outside of /home are world read, meaning a user can browse then – though the files in them aren’t necessarily readable or executable by a non-root user.

Note that since you gave your admin “sudo” access, you could always do this:

sudo cd /home/username/public_html

That takes a normal user, and temporarily gives them root privileges.