Out of space for Virtualmin

Hi all,

Not sure if this is the right place to ask or if it’s better suited to a more general Linux forum, but here goes.

The partition that I have Virtualmin installed on has filled up, and I’m not sure what the best action to take is. I’m getting a lot of errors saying things like

[code:1]Failed to write to /etc/webmin/security-updates/security.cache when closing : No space left on device[/code:1]

My server is partitioned in the following way…

[code:1]$ df -h
Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
/dev/sda1 1012M 1012M 0 100% /
none 1014M 0 1014M 0% /dev/shm
/dev/mapper/rootvg-lv_tmp
1008M 34M 924M 4% /tmp
/dev/mapper/rootvg-lv_usr
13G 1.9G 11G 16% /usr
/dev/mapper/rootvg-lv_var
11G 362M 10G 4% /var
/dev/mapper/rootvg-lv_home
14G 357M 13G 3% /home
/dev/mapper/rootvg-lv_data
55G 85M 52G 1% /data
[/code:1]

My server is running RHEL4.

I’m no expert on Linux, especially when things go wrong! In your opinion, what would be the best course of action?

Cheers!

Nathan

Short term: Uninstall unnecessary packages. What is unnecessary is hard to say, since we don’t know what you’re doing with your system.

Longer term: Move / to a bigger partition. Resizing partitions is somewhat risky, but doable (just make sure you have good backups before doing so). You’ve got most of your disk devoted to “/data”…what did you intend to use /data for? I’m unaware of anything that wants/expects a /data partition, and pretty much everything, including “data”, on a Linux or UNIX system has a “standard” location (and /data is never it)…so it seems sort of random to give your whole disk over to it. :wink: