My VPS's website is not displayed?

Hi,

I am very new to VPS and Linux, and have been stuck to set up my own VPS server which I would like to run on CentOs 5 32bit.

I managed to install both Webmin and Virtualmin on my VPS server, and I set up and configure DNS on Webmin DNS BINDING without issues; and it seems to works well when I issue the following command in SSH:

-Verify that the DNS servers:

dig @myIP mydomian.com

-Verify if Mail Server is OK:

dig mydomain.com mx

and I make sure that httpd is refreshing:

service httpd restart

All the above commands have produced no errors. At this stage the home page of my VPS (http://www.mydomain.com) displayed CentOs deault page.

However, I have no clue of how to create an FTP user so that I can transfer my web pages/folders to the web server. I went to Webmin again and do the followings:

System ->Users and Groups->create a new user

and add a user by setting a username and password with /bin/sh shell

I then I use an FTP client to log into the FTP server using the above username and password I created; and I did manage to log into the FTP server and transfer a test php file there. But when I went back to my VPS’s homepage, nothing is displayed except I get error on the browser as follows:

Index of /
Name Last modified Size Description

Apache/2.2.3 (CentOS) Server at www.supervpsmail.com Port 80

I also noticed that a folder with the above user name has been created in /home/ when checking it in Webmin?

Could you please help with the above issue?

Many thanks in advance.

Warm Regards

Thon

Howdy,

How did you perform your Virtualmin installation – did you by chance use the install.sh script?

Normally to do what you’re asking – what you’d do is log into Virtualmin, create a new domain, go into Edit Users, and then create an FTP user within that domain.

You normally wouldn’t want to create the domain or FTP users within Webmin, you’d only want to use Virtualmin for that.