Multiple Domains and Subdomains on single directory

Hi,

I’m a complete newbie with Virtualmin/Webmin, and dedicated servers in general.

Here is what I need to do:

PART 1/
I have several domain names:
www.domain.com
www.domain.fr
www.domain.co.uk

They must all point to the same location (same /prod-directory) and use the same prod-database. Content is served according to the domain name (if domain.com => serve content in US English, if domain.fr => serve content in French, etc.)

PART 2/
I also have development versions for these websites, with the same features:
dev.domain.com
dev.domain.co.uk
dev.domain.fr

They must all point to the same location (same /dev-directory) and use the same dev-database. Content is served according to the domain name (if dev.domain.com => serve content in US English, if dev.domain.fr => serve content in French, etc.)

And finally, I have a multi domain certificate (MDC) to secure all these subdomains (but that’s for later).

I know how to create a top-level server and an alias (that seems to cover PART 1).

However when I want to create a sub-server (PART 2), I don’t know how to make the new subdomain point to a different directory than the default directory.

So my question is: what do you recommend?

• Create a symbolic link to /dev-directory from the default directory
  • Change the settings to make the sub-domain point to /dev-directory (and if so, how?)
  • Other solution?

Thanks a lot for your help!

Francois

Howdy,

I’m a complete newbie with Virtualmin/Webmin, and dedicated servers in general.

Excellent, welcome! That’s how we all started!

I have several domain names They must all point to the same location (same /prod-directory) and use the same prod-database.

It sounds like you have the content portion of these sites already, and that you’re just asking how to make a set of websites all point at the same directory.

So it sounds like just need a main domain, and then to setup a number of aliases.