Missing DNS Zone entry warning, although site is working ..

Hi guys … I’m completely new to virtualmin, and have recently set it up on a VPS to run my site through (its only one site - my own).

My site seems to be working fine. I can go to example.com, and my site loads fine. However when I log into Virtualmin and click on the check configuration button on the home page, I get this error:

Virtualmin is configured to setup DNS zones, but this system is not setup to use itself as a DNS server. Either add 127.0.0.1 to the list of DNS servers, or turn off the BIND feature on the module config page. It appears that DHCP is being used to dynamically configure your network interfaces, which can cause the DNS servers to be set based on settings provided by the DHCP server. Using a static IP address is strongly recommended with Virtualmin.

Can someone break down this error for me, and tell me what’s the problem ?

A related issue I have is that if I ping example.com from my PC (example.com = my site), it pings fine, to the IP of the VPS. However, if I ping virtualmin.example.com (hostname of my VPS), it cannot resolve the IP. I say this is an issue because if I want to open up the virtualmin panel from my own PC, I have to type https://IP:10000. This is kinda hard because I don’t know the IP by heart, and would prefer if I can load it through https://virtualmin.example.com:10000, if possible …

I think the errors are quite self-explanatory. :wink: I wouldn’t really know what to add.

To resolve (new) locally hosted domains, before their DNS entries have propagated, it is advisable to use the local BIND as first resolver, and then if required that of your provider.

As for the DHCP, what kind of server do you have there? If it has a static IP address, you should turn off the DHCP client, even if it’ll always assign you the correct IP, and configure the address statically.